Welcome!

If you know me, you know that I am interested in politics. American, electoral, international, economic, whatever, if it’s to do with the political exchanges between groups or people, I’m there. Since this is America, and we have 24-hour news networks playing constantly in our Starbucks (Starbuckses?), at our gyms, and in airport lounges, regular people are constantly bombarded by information that  they don’t have the time or interest to get into properly.

You may ask yourself, “What does he mean by ‘regular people’?” and that’s a good question. I mean people who have lives, interests, and general things-to-do that don’t allow them the time to constantly refresh their GoogleReader smartphone app, constantly pulling up news articles to get a better understanding of which Senator is going to do X, and which candidate for president is going to say Y, or what the newest economic numbers mean for Z. Basically, when I say “regular people,” I mean people who aren’t huge nerds with too much time on their hands.

I have always tried to write about politics, mostly because what else are you going to do if you are constantly taking in that sort of information? Your friends aren’t going to want to hear about it all the time, and you need an outlet. I, being someone interested in this arena, am also constantly asked questions about what the latest “major political news story” means. This blog attempts to serve two purposes: It will give me an outlet for my political news interpretation, and, hopefully, it will provide a resource for those people who don’t have time to go through the HuffingtonPost, CNN, FOX News, MSNBC, Slate, Salon, The New York Times, The Washington Post, and all the rest on a constant basis.

The initial goal here, after much thought and discussion with folks who may read this thing, is to update once a week (Mondays!) on a topic, or a few topics, that I’ve been asked questions about in my normal life, or here, on the Internet. Mostly these questions come from relatives, or from friends after I regale them with the latest stories of what politician X said or did. Feel free to submit your own questions. I don’t pretend to be an expert in any of this, obviously. I am just a political junkie, and I spend so much time researching “news items” that I may as well put that to some sort of good use. The question format may not hold up, but we’ll see and grow together, dear readers!

Thanks for reading this introduction! Even if you don’t come back in the future, it’s greatly appreciated!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

